One Shot, Three Applications

I love the range of applications available in editing my images. I don’t always use one; it depends on the look I’m trying to achieve, the audience I want to reach. Black and white is a timeless, classic look.

B&W Peony, Ex-36Hi9, Soft50, Watermark     Birds, Cats, Still More Peonies June 6 2014 007

And there’s no denying that full color shots can be show-stoppers, but if an image is too saturated it doesn’t always print well–at least in my experience. I strive for a natural look and sometimes that means toning down the color a bit.

Full Peony, B&W42+Orton100 15 38, Watermark    Birds, Cats, Still More Peonies June 6 2014 007<a

There's a third option–and I doubt I'm the first to think of it–that I refer to as "color wash." I take the saturation all the way down to black and white and then add just the tiniest bit of color back. It's a different approach, a softer look, and again, it depends on your audience. And personal choice. I like giving my viewers, and my clients, choices.

Full Peony, B&W42+Orton100 15 38; Repeat BW Fade+Orton, Watermark        Birds, Cats, Still More Peonies June 6 2014 007

Which one speaks to you? I’d love to know. Comments always welcome.


Leave a comment