Life and Death….

Surprise Lily Duo, Final Crop, Watermark                  Birds, Flowers, Bees  AUG 27 2015 033

On some level, we know that life and death walk hand in hand….yet it’s a truth we manage to close our eyes to until it hits home on a personal level. For my family, that loss was a mother….grandmother….sister, aunt, friend. My husband’s mother, my mother-in-law, Mildred Rhodes. I was fortunate in her, as there wasn’t any mother/daughter-in-law angst between us. She accepted me wholeheartedly, because Kevin loves me. Who could ask for a greater blessing?

When I struggle to make sense of the incomprehensible I turn to nature for solace. I take my camera outside and look for beauty–a bird, a flower, a sunrise or sunset, and I am rewarded with a small miracle to remind me the world is still turning, in spite of our loss. That life goes on, even as it ends. Today’s gift was a single cluster of surprise lilies, ten days after the rest were finished. I don’t question why it came up today; I know it was meant to, that I was meant to find it. Of particular significance is the flower’s color: pink, Mildred’s favorite. It’s as if she reached out a hand and touched me as she passed….and I am comforted.

5 comments

  1. How warm and comforting this must be for you…and Kevin! I have had similar experiences when my mom and dad passed. I’m very sorry for your loss, Celia.

    • Nothing is lost, only changed; that’s the first law of thermodynamics, but it’s also the definition of faith. Miracles happen, if we’re willing to open our hearts and eyes…and this felt like Mom was telling me she’d arrived safely on the other side and was loving us from there. xo

    • Nothing is lost, only changed; that’s the first law of thermodynamics, but it’s also the definition of faith. Miracles happen, if we’re willing to open our hearts and eyes…and this felt like Mom was telling me she’d arrived safely on the other side and was loving us from there. xo

  2. Lovely words and image, Celia. It does seem to be a rare but wonderful treat to have a mother-in-law who is a joy. My own mother-in-law has always been a kind friend to me and I’m so grateful for that. Thanks for sharing your story here.


Leave a Reply

