Interface Pending…..

In our present climate of increasing digital communication, there still resides in the human spirit a deep longing for personal contact, for knowledge of each other that cannot be gained through interaction on a small screen. We do our best to make the meaning of our words clear but without the emotion or inflection of vocals the nuances are often lost–or worse, completely misunderstood. Drama ensues, feelings hurt where pain was not the desired outcome. Tone is difficult to ‘read’ from cryptic messages, especially in the shorthand of ‘textese.’ Have we really digressed to such trite phrases as ‘OMG’ and ‘LOL’ to convey the complexity of language? I chose this particular image, shot earlier today, to illustrate the point I’m trying to make here: that our spirits need the warmth and nourishment of human interaction, away from all the electronic devices, that our natural impulses are to strive for that connection. And I find it highly ironic that I’m making this point through a digital medium!

I challenge you to put down the phones today, the tablets and the laptops and the iPads. Walk away from the desktop computer. Reach out to the important people in your life. Engage them in real conversation. Face to face, if possible, because that is surely the best possible scenario–you can watch their facial expressions, hear the sound of their voices and their laughter, see their truth in their eyes. Unplug every day, if only for a while….and remind yourself what it is to be human. xo

Interface Pending, Horiz, Watermark          Mon AM JW Blooms  AUG 24 2015 040

Thanks for stopping by, for taking the time to read my thoughts….and if the spirit moves you, leave me some love. 🙂 Carpe diem!

4 comments

  1. I do agree wholeheartedly., Celia! I have said this many times myself. There is so much about a conversation a comment, or even a post, that we do not experience through technology. Words can be easily misconstrued and/or seem superficial. It is so important to communicate, in person, with those that we can. We need human contact and to look at a person’s eyes when we converse. You photograph in this post is so appropriate, in the way that the two flowers are facing and touching each other, the way we should be communicating.

    • Third time is a charm, I hope–I keep losing my reply! Your thoughtful comment shows that you and I are on the same page regarding this subject, Cindy, and I’m pleased you found the photo well chosen. To me, it represents that striving for connection, the longing to experience the reality of a conversation. One thing I DO like about digital communication is that it has allowed me to meet so many wonderful people that I wouldn’t have, otherwise. Over time (and consistency), we are able to get a feel for the person on the other end. And there are always those special few that we magically seem to ‘click’ with, transcending time and space as if we’ve known one another all our lives. Until the day we meet face to face, our words are all we have….so it’s essential that we choose them as carefully as possible. Wishing you a great week, my friend! xo


Leave a Reply

