The Joy of Discovery

Coming In For A Landing

Coming In For A Landing

Recently I was searching my photo archives for a particular dahlia shot, a daunting task when you have as many images as I do–rather like searching for the proverbial needle in the haystack. I eventually found the shot I was looking for but along the way, I got sidetracked into an album of morning glory photos from 2008, finding one that had originally escaped my notice.

I’m always delighted to find an undiscovered element in a photo, in this case, a bee on the edge of a morning glory, on its way to gather pollen, its wings a blur of motion. I have other shots where the insects are crisp and clear but there’s a charm in the suggested, as well.

Color doesn’t always shoot true, and that’s certainly the case here–these morning glories are a deep, rich blue. I used an application I call “color wash,” darkening them to a dusky purple. Brilliant color doesn’t always print well, either.

I’ll conclude with an example of crisp detailing, an Oriental Poppy with Japanese Beetles in the center.

Poppy Surprise

Poppy Surprise

This week, I challenge you to look at your surroundings with new eyes, to see beyond what is immediately visible. Small treasures are all around us, waiting to be discovered (although I wouldn’t call a Japanese Beetle a treasure). Be present in your life, every day. Learn to focus on the details, rather than the canvas as a whole. What you discover may surprise you.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

