March 31….

Lacking any original thought or insight today (I’m cleaning house), I’d like to share one of my favorite poems, which I first encountered while reading The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons. If you haven’t read it, and the other two books in the trilogy, The Summer Garden and Tatiana and Alexander, I highly recommend them. The last three lines of the poem are almost heartrendingly beautiful and haunting, much like the books.

The Embankment
(The fantasy of a Fallen Gentlemen on a Cold, Bitter Night)

Once, in a finesse of fiddles found I ecstasy,
in a flash of golden heels
on hard pavement.
Now I see
that warmth’s the very stuff of poesy.
Oh God, make small
the old, star-eaten blanket of the sky
that I might fold it round me
and in comfort lie.

T.E. Hulme (1883-1917)

This photo seemed like a fitting accompaniment to the poem....

This photo seemed like a fitting accompaniment to the poem….

Leave a Reply

