Enough

I am an ordinary woman, living an ordinary life. I’m neither rich nor famous, at least by the standards those things are customarily measured: my bank account balance, the number of people who know my name/how readily recognizable I am. To me, those are superficial means of assessing anyone’s worth.

There are things I do well–cooking; writing; photography–that fulfill my passion to create. They don’t support me, although I have hopes for my photography, if not my writing. And I cook for pleasure, not profit, for the contentment derived from nourishing those I love.

Given either choice or opportunity, would you really want to be famous? Mega-rich? I wouldn’t. I can’t think of anything, materially speaking, that’s worth sacrificing my privacy for. Excessive income creates its own problems, or, as my husband puts it, “More money means bigger bills.”

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a home where we always had enough, in almost all the ways that matter. My mother often said, “I don’t want to be rich; I just want enough, with a little left over for fun.” That seems to me to be a near-perfect philosophy. It lies within each of us how we define enough, as well as what is important and meaningful in our lives. As I’ve grown, I find that non-material things offer the most satisfaction: spending time with my family and close friends; immersing myself in my art; learning to look for the small miracles in each day.

Abundance can be lovely indeed, when it’s an abundance of the right things. My wish for you, as you read this, is that you may have enough in your life, and the wisdom to recognize it for the gift that it is.

2 comments

  1. I see what you’re saying, Celia. But some people don’t have to choose to be either rich, or to be content with themselves and their lives. This isn’t a popular philosophy in America at the moment, but there are very wealthy people who enjoy their lives; who get great pleasure from cooking for family and friends, raising children well and babysitting grandchildren. Having money doesn’t numb a person to simple, yet deep, emotional pleasure. What it does do is give a person financial security. Anyone who has suffered a catastrophic illness will understand. Money allows you to make life easier for the people you love who are in need; to be generous with charity not only financially, but in terms of time. It also comes with difficulties which decent people with decent values take seriously, such as raising children who are productive members of society who appreciate the emotional reward of hard work, even if money isn’t the motivating factor. Certainly there are some superficial wealthy people just as there are those who are superficial in any normal population. But most who have labored to achieve their success in whatever field are good, generous, down-to-earth people whom you probably would be glad to call ‘friend’ and swap recipes.

  2. Thank you for taking the time to comment, Sandra. We write from our own experience, and I’m always open to another’s experience and viewpoint. Yours is well expressed, and through your words I can see what’s possible for those with more than “enough.” I think that’s a word that will have a different meaning from person to person.


Leave a Reply

