The Battle of the Inbox

Technology baffles me. I wasn’t born in a digital age, surrounded by gadgets that did everything but make coffee. I’m struggling to learn how to use a Smart phone while children use them routinely. This morning, there was a news piece about a three-year-old who taught herself Spanish using an iPad. What an amazing era we live in!

Take email, for example. That’s about as basic as it gets. You write, you hit send. If you’re lucky, the person on the other end replies. Communication in the digital age. Here’s my dilemma: I can’t de-clutter my inbox. I’ve tried; I’ve unsubscribed to a number of e-newsletters but they keep cropping up. Art supply vendors; writing newsletters; author newsletters; recipes. All topics of interest and yet…I feel swamped by information overload. When I take the time to whittle it down to a manageable number (25 or less), the next time I log on to my account I find it doubled. Tripled. Out of control.

I have a theory–email mates when I’m not looking, a tendency it shares with dirty laundry (you have to keep a close eye on both). Don’t ask me how; I already admitted I’m technologically challenged. I’m pretty sure this is true, though. If you have an alternate explanation I’d love to hear it. Or maybe I should just ask my two-year-old granddaughter. Ireland probably knows the answer. I suspect she’s going to tell me I’m an email hoarder. Speaking of which, I wonder if she knows why my printer is hoarding copies. (I went to print a copy of this and got a cookie recipe, instead.) But that’s a topic for another day.

Meanwhile, back to the Smart phone…

2 comments

  1. Ha! Aren’t we all – although, truly, we can learn. As far as the emails mating – I’m with you. When I sit down for a ‘quick’ clean up, I’m there for hours. The internet/computer/digital age is one of those: when she is good she is very, very good and when she is bad she is horrid!


Leave a Reply

