The Molecular Structure of Happyness

Jacks I, Captioned, Watermarked   IMG_2406

It’s a strange phenomenon today that there are so many books, programs, and inspirational quotes to “teach” us how to be happy.  In spite of all the conveniences we have at our disposal, we frequently complain that we don’t have enough time.  Compared to the slower pace I grew up with, life in these modern times travels at warp speed.   We’re in a hurry to do everything–get married; have children and raise them; find fulfilling work (not necessarily in that order).  We cram so much into a single 24-hour period that we often find ourselves juggling too many balls.  Inevitably, some of them drop.  When that happens, stress, guilt, and unhappiness usually follow.  We’re a product of our times, spending part of today looking ahead to the uncompleted tasks and unsolved problems lurking in our tomorrow. 

It seems too simplistic to say that we need to slow down….but there’s truth in that old cliché.  Happiness doesn’t come from having everything we want, exactly the way we dreamed.  As we grow, priorities change; we learn that there are very few absolutes.  It’s not that we compromise–rather, we adjust to reality.  Learn to treat ourselves more gently, and let it all ripple outward from there. 

Years ago, I worked in a nursing home, and I still remember one of the residents saying, “You think you’ve got it bad?  Someone else always has a worse story.”  Worse stories are on the news, every day.  We have so much to be grateful for! 

If you haven’t already, I challenge you to look at your life with new eyes.  Daily miracles are too often missed, like diamonds set in brass–it’s a matter of focus, and of choice, which one you see.

6 comments

  1. This reminds me of the book: “The Hurried Child,” which was written so very long ago about how our kid’s go from hockey, to swimming, to dance, to football. They are so busy they don’t just, play. They gain and they lose, I wonder if ‘happy’ even enters the picture. Love the header – good job!

  2. good stuff. I often remember a discussion I had with my neighbor, Tex. She’s 89 now, I think. (I posted this, but it was ages ago). We were discussing age and I told her I wished I was 24 again…she responded, “I wish I was 70.” Happiness is something I wonder about a LOT.

    • I’m pleased that this resonated with you, Kris, and that you took the time to let me know. There’s something to be said for living in the moment and refusing to borrow trouble for the days ahead. Each of us has to find out own path to peace; my hope for you is that you will find yours. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I’m pleased that you like my blog. Initially, I started it in 2011, but didn’t really do much with it. Early this year, I re-assessed, and decided to try posting once a week. When I started posting my photos, the blog really took off, and I’ve been amazed by the response. I’ve been taking photos for about four years and feel that I’m still learning and growing. The blog has introduced me to others who like sharing their work, and I’m always interested to see and read about those experiences. “The Molecular Structure of Happyness” is one of my earlier images, and one I still like. I think it would look wonderful in a child’s room. 🙂


Leave a Reply

